Kentucky Derby Celebration!

Celebrate the 140th Anniversary of the Kentucky Derby at The Meadows Golf Club! Ladies can make their own Kentucky Derby Hat to wear at race time, men and women golfers can take advantage of a special 9-hole golf package that includes a Mint Julep and everyone can enjoy watching the Kentucky Derby on big screen TV and cheer for your favorite horse to win!

Saturday, May 3rd
The Meadows Golf Club
2802 W 123rd Street, Blue Island
3:00pm to make hats
5:00pm Food and Festivities
5:30pm Kentucky Derby Race Starts!

For more details, view flyer Kentucky Derby!

Volunteer for Friends of the Chicago River, River Clean-Up Day

On Saturday, May 10th from 9am-12 Noon, you can volunteer to help clean the MWRD property on Ann Street along the Cal-Sag Channel and Stoney Creek as part of the Friends of the Chicago River, River Day event. The event Site Captain, Perry Recker with the Blue Island Urban Forestry Board, will spearhead this effort and provide historical information about the Cal-Sag Channel and Stoney Creek! To Volunteer, click to Register! It’s fun and you are helping keep our Chicagoland Waterways clean and safe!

Is Your Dog Missing?

If your dog ran away or is missing, be sure to check with the Blue Island Police Department to see if your pooch is one of the strays they picked up from the Streets of Blue Island. Call the non-emergency Police phone number at 708-385-1313.

Believe in Blue Island!

First Ward Alderman Tom Hawley’s Believe in Blue email newsletter with upcoming events and things you should know.

Believe in Blue Island April 21

City Hall Closed for the Holiday

City Hall will be closed on Friday, April 18th, reopening on Monday, April 21st. Thank you!